Pursuant to City Code Section 1373, a rental property owner or the owner’s local agent (including governmental or nonprofit agencies) must register all rental properties with the City of Painesville every three years as part of Painesville City's Crime Free Rental Housing initiative. The purpose of this program is to assist rental property owners in finding suitable tenants and improving safety through the Crime Free Rental Housing training. The registration process also establishes an efficient way to communicate important information to rental property owners. 


Steps to Register Your Rental Dwelling(s)
  1. Obtain the Rental Dwelling Registration Application at the Community Development Office, 66 Mentor Avenue, Painesville, Ohio 44077 or online. The application includes the following information:
      • Rental Dwelling Registration Application, including registration deadline
      • Information from Painesville Codified Ordinances regarding Rental Registration (all rental ordinance can be found under City Code Section 1373)
      • Crime Free Rental Housing information
  2. Complete the Rental Dwelling Registration Application for each individual rental property that you own and return to the Community Development Office, 66 Mentor Avenue, Painesville, Ohio 44077. Call 440-392-5931 for any questions regarding the application. The form must be completely filled out and signed.
  3. When you submit the registration form to Community Development, they will provide you with a receipt showing proof that your property has been registered.
  4. Take the receipt to the Painesville Police Department (28 Mentor Ave, Painesville, Ohio 44077) or call 440-392-5840 to pre-register for the four hour Crime Free Rental Housing Seminar. Seminars are held online and are scheduled on an as needed basis. If you have already attended a seminar hosted by the Painesville Police Department, you will not be required to do so a second time. However, as laws, programs and procedures change, new and updated information is always being added. Please feel free to register for a refresher seminar to recive the latest up-to-date information.
  5. Attend the Crime Free Rental Housing Seminar.

For questions, please contact the Community Development Department at 440-392-5931.


Frequently Asked Questions

Q: Is this program mandatory?
A: Yes, as of February 2011, this program is mandatory for all rental property owners including governmental or public agencies acting as landlords. 
Q: Is there a registration fee?
A: Yes. Every rental property location must be registered and fees are as follows for each property based on the number of units on that property:
  • 1-10 rental units: $30
  • 11-50 rental units: $50 
  • 50+ rental units:$150
Q: Are there late fees?
A. Yes. See penalty fee structures in Ordinance 1373.04.
Q: Is there a penalty for failure to register?
A: Yes. As stated in Section 1373.07 "Any person, firm, or corporation or his or her agents who violates any provision of this chapter or who fails or refuses to abide by the terms issued pursuant to this chapter is guilty of a misdemeanor in the fourth degree for each offense. A separate offense shall be deemed committed each day during which a violation continues."